Songs Of The Meadow

‘Will you love me forever?’
Her tender eyes questioned.

‘You are a shore to my hasty waves,
a stroke among a many on my canvas,
a sweet bloom in my chaotic garden.
Forever is what I cannot promise.
The moment is my only gift for you.’
Replied his faltering gaze.

In him once, she found,
The oasis for her deserted life.
Lyrics for her empty songs.
Wings for her flightless dreams.
Guiding star for her verge of unmapped.

Under the canopy of generous shade,
She sat with emptiness by her side.
A wistful stare.
A broken yearn within.
Ears starving for those songs.
And all she could hear,
Was the agony of cacophonous silence.

4 thoughts on “Songs Of The Meadow

Leave a Reply

